Archive for February, 2016


Congratulations to 6th Grade student Anna Perl. Anna’s  scratchboard drawing  was selected to represent Massachusetts as part of the YAM Gallery at the NAEA 2016 Conference in Chicago. The award ceremony was held on Februrary 28 in Boston at the Transportation Building  located  at 10 Park Plaza .  The gallery is open to the public until March 31, 2016. The YAM Family Day celebration was a  huge success!  There were between 1500 and 2000 people in attendance, admiring the talents of 875 students,  representing 94 cities and towns throughout Massachusetts.


Anna Perl

Read Full Post »

Student Art and Writing Selected for Publication

Thirteen Marshall Simonds Middle School students’ works have been selected for publication in the upcoming issue of The Marble Collection Winter 2016, a juried magazine that publishes art, photography, poetry, and writing by Massachusetts high school students. All of the photographs selected were taken in the MSMS summer Street Photography program or MSMS after school Photo Club.

Congratulations to the following students:

Riley McHugh

Sarah Schissler 2 Photographs

Jade Sweeney

Neil Pandit

Aurora Golden 1 Photograph/1 Poetry

Erin Kerr

Sophia Lupo 2 Photographs

Ashlyn Biundo

Alison Martin

Jordan Kalatchev


Sophia Lupo  

TMAfinal (1)

Jade Sweeney

dingy (3)

Riley McHugh



Sarah Lupo


Aurora Golden


Alison Martin


Neil Pandit


Ashlyn Biundo


Sarah Schissler

Middle Street

Sarah Schissler


Erin Kerr


Jordan Kalatchev


Aurora Golden

Read Full Post »

Scholastic Art Awards

Congratulations MSMS Artists & Writers

Congratulations are extended to this years Scholastic art and writing award winners!

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have existed since 1923 and the contest affords students across the country the opportunity to be recognized for their talents.  Notable winners of these prestigious awards include Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, and Robert Redford.  Judges look for originality, technical skill, and development of a personal voice and/or vision.  At the regional level, students are selected  to receive the Gold Key, the Silver Key, or Honorable Mention.

The 2016 MSMS award winners were selected from more 15,000 ART entries and 2,500 WRITING entries submitted to the Massachusetts Regional Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, where just over 50 judges had to make hard choices based on the 3 criteria of originality, technical skill, and personal vision.

Grade 8 Art Awards

Sydney Alesse (currently gr. 9), Film & Animation, Honorable Mention for   “Nightmare”

Cynara Ferrao (currently gr. 9), Drawing & Illustration, Honorable Mention for“Self Portrait”'Cynara' by Cynara Ferrao from grade 8 2015

Bridgett Brown, Painting, Honorable Mention for “Untitled”Brown_Bridgett_Painting

Olivia Perry, Painting, Honorable Mention for “Urban Sunrise”  Urban Sunrise by Olivia Perry grade 8

Grace Rakes, Drawing & Illustration, Silver Key for “Inspiration Daydream”Rakes_Grace_Drawing

Sameeksha Sharma, Drawing & Illustration, Honorable Mention for “Precious Smile”Sharma_Sameeksha_Drawing_7

Grade 7 Art Awards

Jack Giles, Drawing & Illustration, Honorable Mention for “Patriot Pride”Giles_Jack_Drawing  copy

Photography Awards (from MSMS Photography Club)

Ashlyn Biundo, gr. 8, Silver Key for “Untitled”Biundo_Ashlyn_photography

Bridget Conceison, gr. 8,  Silver Key for “Bitter and SweetConceison_Bridget_photography_2

Sophia Lupo, gr. 9, Honorable Mention for “Invisible”Lupo_Sophia_Photography1

Sarah Owens, gr. 9, Silver Key for “Enjoying the View”Owens_Sarah_Photography1 copy

Neil Pandit, gr. 9, Silver Key for “Into the Barn”pPandit_Neil_Photograph

Olivia Perry, gr. 8, Honorable Mention for “Concrete Jungle”Perry_Olivia_Photography

Shea Riley, gr. 7, Silver Key for “Portrait of Shannon”Riley_Shea_photography

Layla Robinson, gr. 8, Silver Key for “My Grandma”Layla_Robinson_Photography

Sarah Schissler, gr. 8, Honorable Mention for “Road to Vacation”schissler_Sarah_Digital Images copy

8th Grade BEAM students entered in this year’s writing contest include the following award recipients (writing provided in links).

Congratulations to all students who participated!

Read Full Post »